Evidence comparison / two records

Beancount vs Zoho Books

Read two dated LedgerAtlas records side by side. Differences are shown as recorded observations, not as scores or recommendations.

01 / Recorded observations

Evidence matrix

Each value is copied from the registry and its dated source record. Unknown fields remain visible.

FieldBeancountZoho Books
Category
Bookkeeping automation
Bookkeeping automation
Recorded workflows
Bookkeeping automation · Reporting & advisory
Bookkeeping automation · Close & reconciliation · Reporting & advisory
Ledger integrations
Other
Other
Firm-size fit
Solo · Not stated
Solo · 5-15 clients · 15-50 clients
Workflow replaced
GUI accounting software for practitioners who want version-controlled plain-text books.
Manual invoicing, expense tracking, and bank reconciliation for small client books.
Pricing model and notes
Not stated — The official project site distributes the tool as free open-source software; no subscription pricing applies.
Flat subscription — The official pricing page publishes a free plan for micro businesses plus paid tiers billed monthly or yearly at a discount.
AI depth
Not stated
Assistive
Free tier
Available
Available
Other integrations
Plain-text files
Own general ledger · Zoho suite
Verification status
Checked
Checked
Last checked
2026-09-14
2026-09-14

02 / Source registers

What each record cites

Beancount

  1. 01
    Double-entry accounting from text files

    Product scope as a plain-text double-entry accounting system.

    Beancount · observed 2026-09-14

Zoho Books

  1. 01
    AI-ready accounting software for growing businesses

    Product scope for invoicing, expenses, reconciliation, and reporting.

    Zoho · observed 2026-09-14
  2. 02
    Zoho Books pricing

    Published free plan and paid monthly and yearly tiers.

    Zoho · observed 2026-09-14