Evidence comparison / two records

Beancount vs Sage Intacct

Read two dated LedgerAtlas records side by side. Differences are shown as recorded observations, not as scores or recommendations.

01 / Recorded observations

Evidence matrix

Each value is copied from the registry and its dated source record. Unknown fields remain visible.

FieldBeancountSage Intacct
Category
Bookkeeping automation
Bookkeeping automation
Recorded workflows
Bookkeeping automation · Reporting & advisory
Bookkeeping automation · Close & reconciliation · Reporting & advisory
Ledger integrations
Other
Other
Firm-size fit
Solo · Not stated
15-50 clients · 50+ clients · Not stated
Workflow replaced
GUI accounting software for practitioners who want version-controlled plain-text books.
Accounting systems that cannot support multi-entity consolidation, dimensional reporting, or industry-specific needs.
Pricing model and notes
Not stated — The official project site distributes the tool as free open-source software; no subscription pricing applies.
Contact sales — The official pricing page states plans are tailored by industry and size with a request-pricing path, and publishes implementation cost ranges alongside subscription terms.
AI depth
Not stated
Assistive
Free tier
Available
Not stated
Other integrations
Plain-text files
Own general ledger · ERP modules
Verification status
Checked
Checked
Last checked
2026-09-14
2026-09-14

02 / Source registers

What each record cites

Beancount

  1. 01
    Double-entry accounting from text files

    Product scope as a plain-text double-entry accounting system.

    Beancount · observed 2026-09-14

Sage Intacct

  1. 01
    Sage Intacct cloud financial management

    Product scope for financial management and industry configurations.

    Sage · observed 2026-09-14
  2. 02
    Sage Intacct pricing

    Published tailored pricing process and implementation cost ranges.

    Sage · observed 2026-09-14