Evidence comparison / two records

Beancount vs Sage 50

Read two dated LedgerAtlas records side by side. Differences are shown as recorded observations, not as scores or recommendations.

01 / Recorded observations

Evidence matrix

Each value is copied from the registry and its dated source record. Unknown fields remain visible.

FieldBeancountSage 50
Category
Bookkeeping automation
Bookkeeping automation
Recorded workflows
Bookkeeping automation · Reporting & advisory
Bookkeeping automation · Close & reconciliation
Ledger integrations
Other
Other
Firm-size fit
Solo · Not stated
Solo · 5-15 clients
Workflow replaced
GUI accounting software for practitioners who want version-controlled plain-text books.
Manual desktop bookkeeping with limited inventory and reporting capability.
Pricing model and notes
Not stated — The official project site distributes the tool as free open-source software; no subscription pricing applies.
Flat subscription — The official product page publishes a pricing section and a free-trial path; the observed page states a starting subscription tier.
AI depth
Not stated
Not stated
Free tier
Available
Available
Other integrations
Plain-text files
Own general ledger · Desktop installation
Verification status
Checked
Checked
Last checked
2026-09-14
2026-09-14

02 / Source registers

What each record cites

Beancount

  1. 01
    Double-entry accounting from text files

    Product scope as a plain-text double-entry accounting system.

    Beancount · observed 2026-09-14

Sage 50

  1. 01
    Sage 50 Accounting

    Product scope for desktop accounting, inventory, and reporting.

    Sage · observed 2026-09-14
  2. 02
    Sage 50 pricing

    Published pricing section and free-trial path.

    Sage · observed 2026-09-14