Evidence comparison / two records

1099 Pro vs Square Payroll

Read two dated LedgerAtlas records side by side. Differences are shown as recorded observations, not as scores or recommendations.

01 / Recorded observations

Evidence matrix

Each value is copied from the registry and its dated source record. Unknown fields remain visible.

Field1099 ProSquare Payroll
Category
Tax & compliance support
Tax & compliance support
Recorded workflows
Tax & compliance support · Close & reconciliation
Tax & compliance support · Practice operations
Ledger integrations
Unverified
Other
Firm-size fit
Solo · 5-15 clients · 15-50 clients · 50+ clients
Solo · 5-15 clients
Workflow replaced
Preparing and filing 1099, 1098, 1042, and W-2 information returns manually.
Manual payroll processing and contractor payment tracking with tax filing handled separately.
Pricing model and notes
Flat subscription — The official pricing page lists eFile Only starting at $499 per year for up to 100 forms and eFile plus Print and Mail starting at $684 per year, with a free seven-day trial.
Flat subscription — The official pricing page states full-service payroll at $35 per month plus $6 per employee, with a contractor-only option also at $6 per contractor.
AI depth
Not stated
Not stated
Free tier
Available
Not stated
Other integrations
Desktop and cloud filing
Square ecosystem
Verification status
Checked
Checked
Last checked
2026-09-14
2026-09-14

02 / Source registers

What each record cites

1099 Pro

  1. 01
    IRS-compliant 1099 cloud eFiling platform

    Product scope for 1099, 1098, 1042, and W-2 reporting.

    1099 Pro · observed 2026-09-14
  2. 02
    Pricing

    Published annual plan prices, form allowances, and trial terms.

    1099 Pro · observed 2026-09-14

Square Payroll

  1. 01
    Square Payroll

    Product scope for full-service payroll and contractor payments.

    Square · observed 2026-09-14
  2. 02
    Payroll pricing

    Published monthly plan price and per-worker charges.

    Square · observed 2026-09-14